ASPRI Annual Prosperity Lohei Dinner 2013 cum MOU Signing with WDA

20/02/2013- 20/02/2013

On the 20 Feb 2013, ASPRI held its Annual Prosperity Lohei Dinner at the Singapore Island Country Club (SICC). The esteemed event saw an impressive 389 attendees from 86 member companies, including 50 invited guests from 20 companies, such as Mr. Leonard Scott(Maintenance Manager, Singapore Site) and Mr. Boyd Barrilleaux (Refinery Manager) from ExxonMobil, Mr. Lim See Keong (ECC Event Manager) and Mr. Than Cher Yean (Turnaround Manager) from Shell Eastern Petroleum, Mr. Derek Ong (Managing Director) from Neste Oil, and also various attendees from Petrochemical Corporation of Singapore (PCS) and Singapore Refining Company (SRC). ASPRI’s Advisor, SMS. Lee Yi Shyan (Senior Minister of State, Minister of Trade and Industry & Ministry of National Development) was urshered into the event by the lion dance troupe to grace the evening’s activities with ASPRI’s guests.

For ASPRI’s Sixth President, Mr. Charles Quek, it was a memorable night as he welcomed the guest as ASPRI President for the 1st time. This was followed by the MOU Signing for DNA Programme. The rest of the night was a time of performances by a live jazz band, lucky draw winnings and plenty of networking between our member companies, government agencies and plant owners. Press journalists from the Singapore Press Holdings (SPH) were also present to cover the event.

This event was also a significant one, as it witnessed the signing of Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between the Singapore Workforce Development Agency (WDA) and also 5 other member companies for the Development and Apprenticeship (DNA) Programme.

Through this programme, WDA pledges $1 million to support these companies, by providing structured development and career progression pathways for 46 locals over the next 2 years. During which, these locals will undergo a 12-month programme that will comprise of company-specific training to facilitate entry of new workers into the industry.

These 5 participating companies are:

  • Hai Leck Engineering (Pte) Ltd
  • HSL Constructor Pte Ltd
  • Mun Siong Engineering Ltd
  • Rotary Engineering Ltd
  • Shao Fook Engineering Pte Ltd

You may view the photos for the event by clicking below: